Home » India notifies rules to implement controversial legislation amending citizenship laws

India notifies rules to implement controversial legislation amending citizenship laws

by Derek Andrews
0 comment 3 minutes read Donate

The Indian authorities notified Monday the Citizenship (Modification) Rules, 2024 (CAR), in accordance with the controversial Citizenship (Modification) Act, 2019 (CAA), which goals to amend the legal guidelines governing citizenship in India. The CAA helps persecuted spiritual minorities achieve entry to Indian citizenship however particularly excludes Muslim immigrants. The federal government additionally informed that the appliance process beneath the brand new guidelines shall be completely digital, and an online portal shall be supplied.

The Authorities of India Ministry of Dwelling Affairs (MHA) Spokesperson’s X (previously Twitter) account shared the data that the CAR shall be notified on Monday, stating:

Ministry of Dwelling Affairs (MHA) shall be notifying right now, the Guidelines beneath the Citizenship (Modification) Act, 2019 (CAA-2019). These guidelines, known as the Citizenship (Modification) Guidelines, 2024 will allow the individuals eligible beneath CAA-2019 to use for grant of Indian citizenship. The purposes shall be submitted in a very on-line mode for which an online portal has been supplied.

Subsequently, India’s Dwelling Minister Amit Shah shared the CAR and the web portal by way of his X (previously Twitter) account. He stated:

The Modi authorities right now notified the Citizenship (Modification) Guidelines, 2024. These guidelines will now allow minorities persecuted on spiritual grounds in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan to accumulate citizenship in our nation. With this notification PM Shri @narendramodi Ji has delivered on one other dedication and realised the promise of the makers of our structure to the Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis and Christians residing in these nations.

The CAA offers a path to Indian citizenship for undocumented migrants belonging to 6 spiritual minorities (Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian) from Pakistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan who entered India earlier than 2015. Critics argue that it discriminates in opposition to Muslims and violates the secular ideas of the Constitution of India.

On Friday, India deported seven Rohingya immigrants to Myanmar for alleged unlawful entry into India.

Source / Picture: jurist.org

Donation for Author

Buy author a coffee

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

@2023 LawyersRankings.com. All Right Reserved.